Growing

My children are growing up, it is a disservice to refer to them as children any more because they are really young adults.  I am proud of the human beings they have turned into, especially my daughter.  A little over a year ago, my hopes for her future were not great.  I would have been happy if she graduated from high school and could hold a job.  Now she is talking about post secondary school and is motivated to learn and contribute.  We are hopefully optimistic about the next 5 years.

But it isn’t just them who are growing.  In the last year my husband and I have grown as parents too.  I have attended monthly counselling sessions to support my daughter, and we’ve had some really hard times and thought about who we wanted to be as parents.  Last night I was speaking to my husband after work and talking about our kids.  We talked about the mistakes we made as parents. 

But for the first time, we talked about the mistakes that we made as parents.  Not in any sort of accusatory fashion, not blaming our children or their diagnosis.  It was just a statement, an acknowledgement of being human, reacting and not always doing the right thing.  And more importantly, and that we knew we had made mistakes, and that was okay, and that we had learned from them and moved on.

I am proud of my children, but I am also proud of us.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in autobiographical, parenting issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing

  1. I think we all mistakes as parents. We try to do our best and that’s all we can do 🙂 It’s great that your daughter is back on track! I think that is a sign of very good parenting 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    I think that’s awesome. I’m so happy to hear you’ve come to a good place. The teen years scare the crap out of me and I have no idea how we will handle it. Any thoughts you have on things that worked for you and your daughter would be great!

Leave a Reply

