Friendship

Earlier this week I had supper with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while, and tonight I am doing again.  They are former co-workers that I worked with for years and with whom I had formed close relationships.  I spent more time with them than I did with my husband!  But over a year ago, I left that job.  I left my friends behind. 

It isn’t until I see them that I realize how much I miss them, and what a support they were to me.  I finally am feeling settled in my job, and don’t feel like “the new girl” at work.  But I have not formed any friendships like I had before.  I get along with people, but I do not feel like I can entirely be myself around them. 

I didn’t realize how much I missed this, and how much better it made me feel until I went out for supper on Wednesday.  And in ways that I didn’t imagine.  Not just feeling supported and empathy, but I felt smart, funny, and beautiful just from hanging out with a friend.  My self-confidence was through the roof when I got home.  And it felt great.  I miss that me. 

How do you stay connected to others?  How does it impact your mood and outlook on things?  Share your success and challenges, so that I know that I am not alone.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friendship

  1. dm says:

    I smiled when reading your post as I could feel your glow. I believe you have experienced a glimpse of what I define as true friendship. I have learned over the years to only have people in my life who accept me for who I am, enjoy my quirks and that I am a valued person in their life.

    It has been said that a life “partner” you choose should only bring out the best in you and I believe the same in friendship. When spending time together you both feel better about who you are, with no confusion at the end of the day.

    As far as your comment on how to keep people in your life? It is like any relationship I feel in the sense that it takes two people to make it work and if the effort is put forward it’s worth the effort.

    Friends are a wonderful thing in life, especially for women.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

