Diapers are easy.

I rarely worried about my parenting skills when my son was little.  I knew how to handle the terrible twos, the even scarier three’s didn’t even seem to faze me.  I sent my kids off to elementary school without a tear from either of us.  I was young and confident.  I was a great mother.  I knew I was a great mother.  Sure I still worried, but I knew I was doing the right thing.

Things got tricky at about age 10.  It isn’t so cut and dry then.  They develop these minds of their own, they are moody, anything you say or do can wound them deeply.  Now with two teenagers living at my house, much of my life feels like I am walking on egg shells.  Everything I do is wrong, if I make their lunch, I make them food they don’t like.  If I don’t make their lunch, I am not supporting them enough.  There is no winning with these people.

Which is why my husband and I have taken the “if I am screwing up anyways, I might as well have fun with it” approach.  I highly recommend it.  We like to sing along loudly with their music.  If we don’t know the words, we make them up.  You use dorky slang at our supper table, you don’t even want to imagine the ridicule you will have to put up with for the next 10 years (ask my daughter about the time she busted out “that was so, like, 15 minutes ago”.  We are still using that one.  Often.).

So the moral of this little story goes something like this: 1)If preschooler issues stress you out, RUN.  It gets worse.  Big kids, Bigger problems.  AND 2) if you are just screwing them up anyway, you might as well have fun.  There is no winning with adolescence age children.  They are like the borg.

Wait that isn’t funny, that joke is like so 15 years ago….

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diapers are easy.

  1. Lynn says:

    I’ve been obsessing over this issue lately – I’m living in fear of the teenage years. Our oldest is just turning 8, but already I’m worried I’m just not up to the mental horrors of dealing with a teenager. I’ve heard that the physical exhaustion of preschoolers is nothing compared to the mental strain of the teen years…YIKES.

    Let me know when it finally gets better so I at least have an end goal to head towards!

    • mcwhclan says:

      I guess it really isn’t harder, just different. And not intuitive. When my kids were little I just knew what to do, but I hit teenage-hood and I have to stop and think about every single little thing and what I say and how I say it.

      And my perspective is different because my eldest has severe ADHD and oppositional defiant disorder. Which has made the last 3 years HARD. But now that my youngest is approaching his teens, I am actually enjoying it with him. (most of the time) I am enjoying watching him grow into an decent young man. I can say that because he just offered to refill my coffee, and what can be wrong with a kid who does that?

Leave a Reply

