An exercise

A long time ago, I was at a cross roads in my life and was trying to make a hard decision.  I was told to close my eyes and imagine what I wanted my life to be like in 5 years.  I should use that to guide my choice.   I have used that often when I am feeling lost, to help me find my way.

The strange part is that although my life is similar to the one I imagined, there are pieces that I never could have dreamt of in a million years.  If you had told me 12 years ago that I would marry a guy like my husband, I wouldn’t have believed you.  I didn’t think I would fall for a guy like him, someone with interests so different from my own.  There are times when I wonder what keeps us together, what do we really have in common?  We don’t like the same things, we have different priorities, what draws us together? 

Because really, I think we might just be the best suited couple I know. 

He makes me laugh, and he challenges me.  Because of him I have become a stronger person, a more self-aware person.  I have experienced things and opened my horizons to experiences I never would have had otherwise.  He grounds me when I am starting to lose it, he is gentle when I need it, and gives me the shove when I am afraid to take the first step.   Although he drives me crazy with some of his choices (*cough*new truck* cough), it is those same things that draw me closer to him. 

And as I look in my garage, that is what I have to keep telling myself.

image

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in the little things, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

