101 Update

I haven’t written about it in a while, but I have been plugging away at my Day Zero Project. Here is an update of some recent completions:

24. Visit a waterfall.

In August we went out to BC for a wedding, and on our way home we stopped and took our kids to a small waterfall.  This waterfall is right next to where my husband lived when he was younger, and it was neat to see him share stories about running and playing around the area.

We have been making an effort to do more things as a family, and have been taking drives on the weekends to places around where we live.  I have lived in Calgary for 20 years now, and this fall was the first time I had ever been out to Elbow Falls, if you haven’t been it is worth the trip.

33. Compliment 10 strangers.

When out doing my Christmas shopping with my kids, I made a point of doing this and having them count.  It was amazing how much stress it took off of us, and getting our shopping done, and the difference it made from the other people we met when we were shopping.  We made a point to talking to other customers and clerks, and it seemed to change the mood of all of us.  In the past the last-minute Christmas shopping had always been kinda painful, and this time it was delightful!

43. Make a New Friend

This is harder than I thought it would be.  I had an idea in my head of what that would be, not just an acquaintance, but a true friend.  I’ll be honest, I still  don’t really feel super close to anyone new, but I have made friends with a few of my new co-workers.  The one that I feel allowed me to cross this off my list, is a co-worker asked me to go to the mall and have lunch with her, off of work time.  I think that qualifies.

80. Make a recipe book.

Now, I wouldn’t say that this is exactly what I had in mind when I first added it to my list, but for Christmas I made my mom and my brother recipe books of some old family recipes.  I stole recipe cards from my mom’s house that my Grandmother had written, and scanned them.  I then used Picaboo to create a digital book, that was then printed and bound for me.  It was reasonable and a unique present.  I highly recommend it!

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, the little things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

