Freeze.

This week has been ridiculously busy, with the boy breaking his arm, and counselling and doctors appointments for the girl, and craziness at work!  My mind has been going a hundred miles an hour, in multiple directions.  Trying to keep me organized and making sure that I don’t drop any of the balls I have up in the air.

Then this morning I came across a tweet that stopped me in my tracks.  Today is pregnancy and infancy loss remembrance day.  I froze.  And I thought of her.  And I keep thinking of her.

It has been a long time since she passed through my life, and she occupies less and less of my everyday thoughts.  But every now and again, like the sudden onset of silence in a game of musical chairs, I stop, freeze and then have to think about my next move.  I always have this fear that it is going to be a paralyzing sense of sadness that I will be stuck in for a few days.  That seems to happen less and less the more time goes by.  Sometimes I struck by how much I learned from her, and the gift that she was to my life.  Sometimes I imagine what she would look like now, if there had been no anencephaly.  What our lives would be like with a kindergartener in our house.  What changes it would have meant for all of us.  What kind of people would we have become.   I am imagine her 20 years from now, and what kind of adult she would have been. 

And like many mothers, I imagine these things alone, silently.  I don’t share them, they are mine.  They are what I have to hold onto from her.  

So on this day, I think of my Teagan.  I think of what should have been, and dream of her.  I think of the others who have gone and are going through the same thing.  I hope that they know they are not alone, and that the pain gets better.  I hope they know that their child mattered.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in the hard stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

