Thanks

Many years ago, at a family Thanksgiving supper, I insisted that we went around the entire table and each person had to say what they were thankful for.  No doubt on the advice of a teacher who said it would be a good idea!  Well it has stuck.  And I dread it each and every year, and only have myself to blame.  It leads to hours of me thinking of what I am going to say, I don’t want to go with the old stand bys of my family, food and good health.  Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for those things, but they are so predictable.  I want something poignant, something thought provoking.  Here are some of the things I have been thinking about for Sundays ritual.

I am thankful for mistakes.  Each mistake has given me an opportunity to fixed something that was wrong in my life, and led to better things.  Each mistake has provided a wake up call and chance to improve the things I don’t like.

I am thankful for flexibility.  I like being able to touch my toes.  I like being able to change the way I see things so that I can be closer to understanding another person.

I am thankful for spell check.

I am thankful for the dead of winter, so that I can appreciate spring, and then summer, and also fall.

I am thankful for big belly laughs.

So yes, I am thankful that my family is healthy, that I have a loving husband, a good job, and that we have more than enough food and a roof over our heads.  But I appreciate all the little things each day.  The contrast of the fall leaves against a vibrant blue sky, each person and family that shares their story with me and lets me into their world, the enjoyment of a good meal, and those times when there is laughter at home. 

Little things.  Thanks.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in just for fun, up on my soapbox and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanks

  1. predictable? nah. poignant and provoking? absolutely. i’m with you here. and i’d say you’ve got the good p’s covered quite nicely . . . or, since it’s around a meal: well done.

  2. LOL! I’m thankful for spell check too!

  3. A.J. says:

    …..was that “Little things” a short joke?? 😉

Leave a Reply

