It really exists?

So I have had a bit of a rough day.  It started this morning when I got up, and was feeling a bit dizzy.  I figured I was hungry and that it would go away after breakfast.  I had a shower and got dressed, ate and headed for work.

Then it started… the vertigo, every time I turned my heads it took the rest of the world a couple seconds to realign itself.  And it kept getting worse.  I figured if I could just get to work, it would be okay.  Work is at the other end of the city.  As I drove through rush hours traffic I kept trying to convince myself that it would pass and I would be okay.

That is, until, I started to black out.  So I pulled over, turned off my van and put my hazards on and then called 911.  I think the EMT thought I was crazy when she first got there, responding to a “dizzy lady” on the busiest street in the city.  But when she watched me try to walk to the ambulance and I couldn’t do so without my arms out like a low flying seagull.

They took me to the hospital, which incidentally is a lot like a jail.  Unless you have a lawyer a friend with you, you are screwed when it come to communicating with the outside world.

Everything is fine, it just turns out I have vertigo.  Which until today, I didn’t realize was a real thing… I thought it was like the flu or an ear infection.  (As an FYI vertigo can happen from crystals forming in your semi-circular canals in your ears, and in turn screwing around with your brain).

So they let me go, which is fine except that I am still dizzy and my van is parked on the side of Deerfoot Trail, and I can’t get a hold of my husband.  But lucky for me I have amazing friends who came to my rescue, two of them, one to drive my sorry butt home, and the other to drive my van.

So I am at home, relatively unscathed.  And trying really hard to NOT move my head.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in just for fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

