Whose the cynic now?

I never believed in love at first sight.  I was not a romantic, I thought you learned to love someone.  That all fell apart when I met him.  Or rather when he called me for the first time.  We spoke on the phone for an hour.  About our kids, our jobs, and hamburger helper.  I knew, after that first hour, that there was something special about this guy.

By the end of our first date, which was by no means an amazingly romantic time, I knew.  I knew I would marry him.  Everyone who saw us together knew we would get married.  So 6 months later when he proposed of course I said yes.  Me, the non-romantic.  The girl who had been referred to by previous boyfriends as cynical about love.  I fell head over heels for a guy who live four hours away from me.  By the time we got engaged we had been on 2 dates without our children.

But what I knew early on in our relationship, was this was a guy who was genuine.  He listened to me, he liked me for who I was, and stuck it out when things were hard in his life.  I knew he made me laugh harder than anyone, and that when I was with him it felt like coming home.  That is love.

Tomorrow marks eight years of marriage.  Things have not always been easy for us, we have gone through a lot of pain and loss, a lot of challenges and trials.  Things have been bad.  But they have also been good.  There has been lots of laughter and love too.  I feel blessed to have found this man with whom I share my life and my family.  I never doubt the way he feels about me, and not a phone conversation or kiss good-night goes by without him telling me that he loves me.

So my darling husband, thank-you for a wonderful 8 years.  Thank-you for being a father to our kids, and my best friend. 

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in autobiographical, just for fun, the little things and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whose the cynic now?

  1. Nancy E says:

    Happy Happy Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

