Happy Thoughts

I have been thinking about this post for a few days now.  It all started on Sunday when I got into a debated with my 13-year-old son about religion.  I am not going to get into that whole discussion right now, it didn’t end well.  But it did bring up that my son feels that he is a cynic and a pessimist. And he worries about it.

Now, I have been accused of being a cynic many many times.  I admittedly have little faith in politicians and large organizations.  I have been known to go off on rants, and get discouraged when listening to the “groupspeak” that comes out of people’s mouths.  I think this is normal.  I don’t think that I am more cynical than the average person.

I tried to assure my son that how he was feeling was normal, and that a lot of the pessimism that he was feeling was due to be a 13-year-old (who had been on a sleep-over the night before and was tired and cranky).  Since that conversation I have been watching my family, and I have been shocked at negative comments that have come out of their mouths.  Frustration with each other, with situations, with strangers… boredom…  all of these things make them spout venomous phrases out loud and under their breath.

Well, I am now on a campaign for little things.  Earlier I talked about 100 things that made me happy, and I think I am going to share that with my kids and my husband.  I am tired of the yelling people in traffic, the getting angry over little things and arguing with each other.  I want my family to see the little things in life that make it worth while.

Happy thing! Robin in my tree!

Stay tuned for the results…

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in the little things. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Thoughts

  1. rmcw says:

    A CAT ATE THAT ROBIN!!!

  2. Nancy E says:

    Maybe you should buy the Book Of Awesome… I haven’t read it yet, but I understand it’s like 1000 little awesome things… I have heard that people, after reading it, start to notice the little things that make life good.

    (sorry he was tired after our house! they were in bed before midnight and slept until 9!)

    • mcwhclan says:

      I heard that guy on the radio last week! It does sound like a cool book! Gotta do something, they are also so grumpy lately. No worries about the boy, he gets tired an grumpy on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

