A Simple Thank-you

Being a parent is a thankless job.  And also underpaid.   How many of us have blamed our parents for the mistakes they have made?  Vented to our friends or blogged about all the short comings that our parents have.  We have voiced our grievances and pointed out the flaws in our families for years.  I recognize that there are bad parents out there.  There are people who do not want to be parents and make horrific mistakes.  These are not the people who I am talking about here.

I have made mistakes.  I have yelled when I shouldn’t have.  I have over reacted.  I have voiced my holier than thou opinion when I should have just shut up and listened.  I have not stepped in when maybe should have.  I am not as empathetic as my children wish I was.  I may be too strict.  I have been exhausted, and self-absorbed.  I have been frozen in inaction, when I knew I needed to change.  I have thrown up my hands and been ready to give up.  I know my mistakes.

Most parents, know their mistakes.  But none of us have ever wanted to hurt our children.  None of us have made these mistakes with the intent of ruining our child’s lives.  None of us are perfect.  We are all individual human beings, and being a parent is hard.  And for those of us who parent a special needs child have it even harder.

The reality is though, that we reach the end of our ropes, we snap, and make mistakes.  It is these mistakes on which we are often judged.  Not the successes that we have all the other days.  We do not get the calls from the school on the days that my child had an exceptional day, we do not get praised when our child is able to go grocery shopping and not have a fight.   The reality is also that doing the things that are easy for most families cause stress and are difficult for some of us.

So yes, I have made mistakes.  But I have done lots of things really well.

So this goes out to parents who feel this way too.  I thank-you.  I thank-you for all you do each day that goes unnoticed.  I thank-you for the difference you have made.  I thank-you for pushing through the mistakes, and trying again another day.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in parenting issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Simple Thank-you

  1. A.J. says:

    You have done, and are constantly doing, a fabulous job, my friend! You are always one of the first people that comes to mind when I think “who is a great Mom?” Nope, not every decision ends up being the right one, but heck, if they were, you would be annoyingly “good”. And that just wouldn’t be any fun. for anyone. You go, girl!!

Leave a Reply

