Could Have Used Those Ruby Slippers

I am home.

Thank God.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a good trip, and I was MORE than glad to get away from the snow they received here in Calgary.  But the days were long.  On my trip to Montreal I went to six places; the track at Mirabel, my hotel, Tim Horton’s, Boston Pizza and East Side Mario’s.  That is it.  If I wasn’t working, I was grabbing a meal and heading back to the hotel.

The airport at Mirabel seems so strange...

Go Kart track at Icar, with the empty Mirabel airport

Most of all, I missed my family.  A lot, more than I thought I would.  I missed running over my day in bed with my husband at the end of the night, and I missed asking my kids about their days.

And then I got sick.  It happens almost every time I fly, I end up with a horrible head cold.  The last day I was there was the worst.  We started work each day at about 6:30 am.  Yesterday was race day and super busy, and ended up working through lunch.  We finished at 6:00 and bolted for the airport, which was 45 minutes away.  Our flight was supposed to leave at 7:50, and we got to the airport at 7:00.  At which point I found out I was on standby.  I could have sat down and cried.  All I wanted was to get home, I was tired, hungry, and sick.  Standby was almost the end of me.   When I got to the gate, I held my breath and asked if there was a seat for me, and there was!  But I had no time to grab a bite to eat and would have to wait until I got home.

But that is when the fanfare played and lights shone down from above on my boarding pass.  Seat 2 C.  First Class.  I got a three course meal and wine.   Clearly I pleased the universe in someway as good karma flowed my way.

But better than first class was falling into my husband’s arms, and saying good night to my sleeping children.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in just for fun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

