Eat your heart out Peter, Paul and Mary…

That’s right, I too am leaving on a jet plane.  Tomorrow morning in fact.  And the really, truly scary part… I am leaving my children at home with my husband.  Don’t get me wrong, he is an amazingly wonderful guy, and capable of looking after his nearly grown kids for 5 days.

But there are things he doesn’t think of… like scheduling.  I have everyone’s schedule planned out in my head so I can figure out who gets access to our one shower when, and still make it to school on time.  I know what time they need to be out the door, and when they should be getting home.  I know when they need to stop goofing around and get their lunch together.  I know if there is no milk in the fridge.  Who is going to do these things while I am away?

There is an upside to this though.  I am hoping that my children can become either more independent or at least appreciate me a little more.  The same goes for my husband.  And the reality is that it is only one full school day that they need to get their acts together.

The part I feel bad about, is I don’t even really care.  I think it will do them good to fend for themselves!  And hopefully I come home Sunday night to the same number of kids that I left.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in just for fun, parenting issues and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

