Another tough choice

I am at a cross roads again, and I am not sure what to do.  Once again something simple, turned into something really hard.  When asked an easy question, my daughter lied.  We knew, we always do, and then one lie becomes two, then three… Eventually my husband drove her to school to check out something, which involved looking in her locker.  Inside he found another stash of over the counter pills, ranging from cold medication to muscle relaxants.  We thought this was getting better.  She has been stealing them from the convenience store on her way to school.  Or that is what she says, but now I don’t know what to believe.

I took a leave of absence from work to be here, to make things better, to supervise.  It isn’t working.  I am supposed to go to work in Montreal for 5 days next week, I thought she was ready to be able to get her self off to school again.  What do I do?  Do I quit and say I can’t go? Do I try to find my 15-year-old daughter a babysitter?  I was excited about returning to work in the fall, but what happens if things don’t get better?  Where do we go from here?

Where do we draw the line?  Do I drive her to and from school everyday? Pick her up for lunch so she can’t go and steal things then? Or do you let her go, and hope that she gets caught before she gets hurt badly?  We have fought so hard to keep her out of trouble this far, but if she is this determined to steal and “use” do you keep fighting or let go?

There is so much going on for her, and we don’t know where or how to begin, or if she is even willing to start.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in parenting issues. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another tough choice

  1. Nancy E says:

    Aw Crap, Erin…. just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water, eh? I have nothing for ya that will actually help, but I wanted to send you a {hug} from where I am dealing with my shit, to where you are dealing with yours.

    If you need to get away and play or just have a coffee, once I’m home we’ll do it!

  2. lindsey says:

    ah darlin’ so sorry to hear this.
    kids really do mess with our plans hey?!
    i don’t have any answers either…but i figure the more hugs the better!
    love you so!
    xo

Leave a Reply

