Too early…

Her: Do you think I am eating 30 grams of cheese:

Me: I don’t know, why?

Her:  I think that is a serving.  Is salsa good for you?

Me: I suppose, better than ketchup anyways.

Her: It is tastier too.  Why is a chicken called a chicken?

Me: I don’t know.

Her:  What is the name of the actress that was in that movie I watched?

Me: What?

Her: The movie I watched on Saturday…

Me: I don’t know what movie you watched on Saturday, I wasn’t here.

Her:It had a dog in it.

Me:????

Turns out it was Lisa Kudrow in Hotel for Dogs… but clearly you should have known that.  This was the breakfast conversation this morning, and took an elapsed time of 20 seconds!  She prefers rapid fire questions.  I am NOT a morning person, and it takes every ounce of patience that I have to not snap.  Is there such thing as shaken teenager syndrome?

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in just for fun, parenting issues. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too early…

  1. Ginny says:

    Shaken teenager syndrome! Brilliant.

    I just came across your blog today via the Cathy border crossing fiasco and am reading it from bottom to top.

    I truly get what you are going through and my eldest son caused me more grief in his teens than I care to admit and I too felt frustration and that I was a failure. I promise you this: despite the frightening times, the obnoxious stages, they do outgrow it eventually. My two sons are fine young men who have given us five beautiful grandkids and they are far more patient with them than I was when I became a single parent just as they entered their teens.

    This too shall pass and then maybe, like me, you will get to witness them raising their own teenagers! Keep up the great writing. You certainly have a talent to cut right to the issue.

Leave a Reply

