A letter to my Ex.

Dear “ex”,

Last night I dreamed about you.  It has been 13 years since I have spoken to you, and I know this because our son turned 13 on the weekend.  He is an amazing young man, who I could not be more proud of.

I need you to know that I don’t hate you.  I am not angry with you.  I actually worry about you.  I have moved on, I am married to an amazing man, who loves us.  I am happy.

Thank-you for the gift of my son.  I am sorry that you do not know him.  I am sorry because I am sure that it haunts you regularly that will run into each other somewhere, or that he will try to contact you.  I am sorry that the thought of your amazing son strikes fear into you.   I am sorry that your parents never will get to know him like I do.  They are missing out.

I loved you.  I don’t anymore.  But I don’t hate you either.  I forgive you for the tears you caused me, and I am sure that in the long run you have suffered more than I have.  I don’t regret anything that happened between us, and I thank-you for teaching me that I am worth more.  More than what you could give me.

And I thank-you for giving me the more most important role in my life, mother.  Everything good thing that has happened to me has followed from that moment 13 years ago when I gave birth to my son.

I hope you find peace and happiness, and know that I don’t want anymore from you.  You’ve given me more than I could ever imagine.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in autobiographical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

