50 Questions #2 – to fail or not to fail

Question number two reads “which is worse, failing or never trying?”

I know what the “right” answer is, I know that it is important to try, and all that… but I am going to go against the grain.  I think failing is definitely worse.

Failure is the albatross around my neck.  It is the negative little word at the back of my head that whispers to me when it is dark.  I know failure.  I have lived failure.  My first year of university I flunked out of engineering.  My doing entirely, I know that.  And I don’t regret that year… most of the time.  I got pregnant at 20 with a guy who had a girlfriend.  I was the other woman, not something that I am proud of, but it happened.  I have the most wonderful son in the world from that relationship though, and I wouldn’t change that for the world.  I have accepted my mistakes, learned from them, and even been glad that they have happened, eventually…

But I have that evil little voice that lurks waiting for me, waiting until the dark comes before it taunts me … “failure, Failure, FAILURE!!”  It echos in my head each time I make a mistake, each time I have a set back, each time we hit a speed bump.  The worst, is when it gets personal.  It involves my kids.  “You’re failing them too you know, this is all your fault.  If you could have been a better parent, more patient… this never would have happened.”  It drags in my marriage, my job, anything it can get its claws into.

And then, in the darkest of hours it whispers “that’s why you lost your daughter, you’d fail her too.”

So the idea of failing scares me.  Terrifies me.  Keeps me up in the night.  I would rather not try, even though most times I do.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 Questions #2 – to fail or not to fail

  1. A.J. says:

    Aw honey. It is only failure if you never learn anything from it, or if it was in your control and you PURPOSELY decided to do what you know you shouldn’t. None of what you feel you “failed” at is failure. Mistakes> Maybe, for some things. The best choices? Potentially not always. But you can’t control everything, nor should you try. And coming from a control freak, that means something! 😉 But the biggest failure IS to not even try……because by trying is also the only way you can succeed. And at THAT, you totally rock!!

  2. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll bookmark your site.

Leave a Reply

