Parenting is hard…

At 15,my daughter has no close friends.  No one calls, no invites her out, no one comes for sleepovers.  She hasn’t been invited to a birthday party in 5 years.  Why is this not an alarm?  How do I help?

At the end of January I was completing a quick search of my 15 year old’s school bag.  For many I know that this a faux pas, but trust me, we have a history.  There is a reason I check.  I found a bottle of assorted medication taken from our house.  Everything, acetaminophen, back pills, tums, her ADD medication, antihistamines… anything and everything.   When confronted she told me that she wanted to kill herself.  After a panicked call to the mental health hot line, I took her to the emergency ward.  Ten long hours later she was admitted to the children’s hospital mental health ward.  For a week.  I am still not sure if she ever was really going to kill herself, or if she was handing them out to her friends, or what.  All I know is that we need help.  As a family, we have been asking for help for years.  It took this to get it.  Our daughter has faced challenges for as long as I have known her.  But she doesn’t throw desks or get violent (anymore…) and therefore help is not given.

I thought things maybe were getting better.  I thought she maybe got how serious things were, I thought our efforts to make better connections with her might be making a difference.

They’re not.  This morning I found a stash of pills in her room.  I do lock them up, but clearly she checks and once I forgot.  Nothing has changed.  She is still in pain.  We are still in pain.  And I don’t know how to help.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in parenting issues, the hard stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parenting is hard…

  1. Nancy E says:

    Wow, Erin… I had no idea…. I hope you don’t mind that I read it. If you want me to take off, I will. No worries. 😉

    If you need anything, I’m usually at home… in SK right now but heading home tomorrow. Will do whatever we can….

Leave a Reply

