The juggling act

I  am a mother first and foremost in my life.  Of all my hats, and roles, this is the one that means the most.  I have two children. This is us.

Spring 2009

My daughter is actually my step-daughter, and I never refer to her as that, except to give people an idea of our family tree.  She is 15, in high school, and although we don’t usually see eye to eye, I love her.  She has faced a lot of challenges in her life, and continues to do so.  There will be times when I talk about these challenges, and how they effect our family, but this isn’t one of them.

My son is 12, and is mine from a previous relationship.  He makes me laugh daily, and is my greatest accomplishment (actually he asked me once at about age 6 if he was my greatest accomplishment, and it has stuck with me ever since).  He is brilliant and will one day be a famous writer.  He started a novel two years ago, and it actually has a prologue.  12 is a hard age to be.  Desperate to be an adult, and still wanting to be a kid.

The next role I have is wife.  I take this slightly less seriously.  I find that it isn’t all that much work.  I know, I know, relationships take work… but really, it isn’t.  My husband and I met on a blind date back in 2000.  Really!  I am not a romantic by any stretch of the imagination, but when I met him, I knew.  We met in October, and by June he had left his life in another province and moved in with my son and I.  For many people it takes time to adjust to living together,  it wasn’t like that for us.   We were both single parents, and it felt like home.  It was easier.  It has been like that ever since.  He is the only person I can spent two weeks with and not feel like killing by the end of it, and if that isn’t true love, I don’t know what is.

I didn’t decide what I wanted to be when I grew up until I was 30.  That’s normal right? I started an amazing job working in a kindergarten classroom with kids with special needs.  I was home.  This experience, combined with the things we have gone through with my daughter, made me realize what I want to do.   I am currently finishing my degree in educational psychology by correspondence.  Harder than it sounds.  Two more roles…

In January of this year, I had to make a decision.  Which role is most important? Things at home starting falling apart.  My daughter ended up in the hospital, and things seemed to be spiraling out of control.  I took a leave of absence from work.  I felt a bit guilty leaving the kids and families I worked with, but I knew it was what I had to do.  My kids needed me, and nothing else is more important.  When it came down to it, it was not a hard decision at all.  And I’m glad I made it.

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in autobiographical. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The juggling act

  1. one of the most fulfilling jobs i’ve ever had was working in classrooms with children with special needs. LOVED it. where are you doing your degree? my phd is in ed psych, and i teach part-time at walden.

    • mcwhclan says:

      I am doing it by correspondence through Athabasca university. It is too hard and expensive to go full time. I figure at the rate I am going I will be finished by the time I am 150. But I am loving it.

Leave a Reply

