Help!

I love cooking.  Especially now that I have more time for it.  One of my 101 things is to get 100 recipes from other people!  I need your help!  I love to experiment and try new things.  I like finding new recipes and adapting them for our family.  My favourite right now?  A chicken dish that I can throw in the oven and ignore!

rogue chicken

I like my chicken fresh.

1 can of tomatoes (one of the big sized cans, but fresh tomatoes will work too, just more work)

2 cloves of garlic run through a garlic press or diced

1 red onion chopped

Red wine or cooking sherry – about um,  5 second pour… I should have measured before I shard this with others, but I sure don’t measure a lot of stuff.

about a tbsp of rosemary leaves crushed between your palms

a few dashes of hot sauce, I use Franks, but I am sure whatever will work OR red pepper flakes

Throw all these in a bowl and let sit for 5 or 10 minutes.  Place chicken pieces (I’ve used thighs and breasts, both were good) in baking pan and then pour tomato concoction over and back at 350 until it is done.  It all depends on how soon before dinner you remembered to get the chicken out of the freezer.  At least for me it does.  I’ve served this over pasta for the rest of my family, and I just ate it without.

What is your favourite right now?  If you can, I would love recipes without potatoes, pasta, and rice as I am trying to stay away from carbs as much as possible.  I lost 30 pounds since Christmas and would like to keep it that way.  But if it is worth it, I will totally eat whatever you send.

Now I’m hungry…

About mcwhclan

Mom of two, student, wife, daughter... where does one keep all these hats?
This entry was posted in 101 in 1001, just for fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Help!

  1. violetia says:

    Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Chunk Banana Bread

    5-6 bananas
    1 tspn vanilla
    1 tspn baking powder
    1/2 tspn baking soda
    1 tspn cinnamon
    2/3 cup coconut flour
    2/3 cup tapioca flour
    2/3 cup brown rice flour
    1/3 cup water or almond milk
    honey to taste
    crushed organic Camino chocolates to taste

    Preheat oven to 350 F.

    Mix all dry stuff in one bowl, sift or hand comb through to get rid of clumps.

    Mix wet things in another bowl, some like banana chunks in the bread so don’t completely blend. Hand mixed is preferred for sensory diet.

    Mix together with chocolate chunks, again hand mixing is preferred.

    Line a bread pan with a thin layer of veg/olive oil. Slop the mixture in the pan, pat it down, add more chocolate chunks on top. Option: Add star sprinkles for super stardom.

    Leave in oven for 1 hour.

    (The coconut, tapioca, and brown rice flour mixture should equal 2 cups of flour. This is the first non gluten flour mixture I have tried and it does not taste dry. There are more expensive flours I want to try, like almond flour, and quinoa flour. I secret to non gluten baking is the combination of different flours. In your case you can find the flours with less carbs?)

  2. FireMom says:

    We just made this the other night. Technically, this is two recipes in one. The peanut sauce is awesome by itself, too. Enjoy!

    http://familyfun.go.com/spring/spring-recipes/spring-dinners/grilled-pork-tenderloin-asparagus-with-peanut-dipping-sauce-688710/

  3. LauraCF says:

    Reina Pepiada

    - 3 cooled deli roasted chicken breasts – discard skins, rip the chicken off, shred it or chop it up
    - dice 1/2 green pepper, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 a red onion and throw in a pan to heat through in about a tbs olive oil.
    - add chicken to peppers, squeeze a ton of lime juice over it, throw a good amount of red pepper flakes in, a handful of fresh chopped cilantro, and mix through to get flavour through chicken.
    - 2 or 3 very soft avocadoes – mush this in a bowl and whip it up good so it’s smoooooooth. Add about a tbs of mayo if you aren’t too concerned about mayo-arse (really, it’s very little mayo when spread over 4 people and at least two meals). Save one of the pits from an avocado to put into finished product – apparently it keeps the mixture from turning brown too fast.
    - When the chicken has cooled a bit, add it to the avocado mixture – taste: add more cilantro and/or lime to taste.

    Put on pita bread, toasted focaccia, arepas, or whatever. if you’re so inclined, eat it over spinach salad.

    a tasty ‘good fats’ meal to stretch a dollar and make your hair shine. :-)

  4. Jenn says:

    This is a recipe that we love, an Atkins staple in our house. We also make a ‘breakfast’ version with crumbled bacon or chopped up sausages. I’ve also cooked the “crust” on jelly roll pans and used it to make a lasagna type dish (before I found Dreamfields lasagna noodles!!)

    I have lots of LC recipes that I love… do you need to get 100 from 100 different people? If I send you two, but say one is from Alves, is that cheating?

    From Active Low Carber forum: http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=44087&highlight=pizza+quiche

    DEEP DISH PIZZA QUICHE

    4 oz softened cream cheese
    4 eggs
    1/3 cup heavy cream
    1/4 cup parmesan cheese (grated)
    1 tbs chives
    1/2 tsp Italian or pizza seasoning
    2 cups shredded cheese (I use mozzarella/cheddar mix)
    1/2 tsp wet garlic or 1/4 tsp garlic powder
    1/2 cup lowest carb tomato or pizza sauce
    1 cup mozzarella cheese
    Toppings to taste (I use pepperoni, sausage, onion, green pepper, mushrooms, whatever!)

    Preheat oven to 375.
    Beat together cream cheese and eggs till smooth (I use a blender).
    Add cream, parmesean cheese and spices.
    Spray 13×9 glass baking dish with PAM.
    Put 2 cups of shredded cheese in dish and pour egg mixture over.
    Bake at 375 for 30-35 minutes.
    Remove from oven.
    Spread with sauce and then add your toppings.
    Cover with mozzarella cheese.
    Bake till browning and bubbly (or however you like your ‘za!)
    Let stand for 5 minutes or so.

Leave a Reply

